Relaxing Monday ~Danielle

27 Jun

Today’s Workout:

3 mile run

15 minutes incline walking

30 minutes stairs

I was SO lazy skipping my long run yesterday so I woke up today definitely ready to go. I felt great! I don’t know why I couldn’t get motivated yesterday because usually long runs are my favorite. (is that weird?) But today I was feeling strong which was good so I added the extra cardio in as well. I think they need to turn the AC up in my gym because let me tell you, I was a sweaty mess. As in, I left puddles on the stair machine. My sincerest apologies, cleaning crew.

Lunch today consisted of a sausage, egg and cheese sandwich (that’s right Dunkin Donuts and McDonald’s, I can make those too!) and a chocolate PB banana protein shake.

After lunch and blog stalking, I went food shopping (big fun, I know). I love this time of year because of all the fruit that’s out! In addition to my usual apples, bananas and strawberries, I found this beauty:Please excuse my insanely creepy eyeballs. I was just really excited to devour that entire chunk of watermelon! Fresh watermelon has got to be my hands down favorite summer produce. It’s so juicy and sweet and delicious and makes me think of my family’s summer picnics. =) As soon as I finished taking the above creepy picture, I cut that baby up and had myself a nice bowl.Now it’s officially summer. =)

The rest of the afternoon was spent laying in our nook reading a book.

I’m currently reading a book called Undead and Uneasy by Mary Janice Davidson. It’s part of the “Undead” series which follows the life of newly-risen vampire Betsy. Here’s a synopsis of the first book from the website:

Betsy Taylor turns 30, gets laid off, is killed by an SUV and wakes up dead all in the same week. The vampire community is convinced she’s their prophesied Queen. But she’s not having any of it—she’s got shoes to buy! And now the undead world is being turned upside-down by a Bela Lugosi throwback and her subjects expect her to take care of it! Why didn’t she read the handbook? But her would-be consort, Eric Sinclair, is (annoyingly) ever-present. If only he wasn’t so tall, dark, gorgeous…and undead. (source)

I’ll admit I have a thing for vampires (LOVE Buffy and True Blood and yes I read all the Twilight books) so that made me want to read these books but I also love them because they’re really sarcastic and funny! I actually laugh out loud while reading. So that’s how I know they’re good. =) However, I’m getting through the series so quickly that I’m going to need new books to check out this summer. Any suggestions??

Reading caused me to work up quite an appetite so after a while I made myself a burger with brown rice and veggies on the side.I put laughing cow cheese and roasted red peppers on my burger and it was delishhh. Now I’m waiting for my Voluminous Vanilla Ice Cream to fully freeze so I can have some dessert!

Not a very exciting day but after a crazy school year I SO enjoyed just relaxing today. =) If the weather cooperates, Jenn and I will be spending tomorrow at the beach! Woo hoo!


What is YOUR favorite summer produce/food??

Any book suggestions??

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

